Previous Index Next
Page 226
(previous) (Page 000226) (next)
218 Appendix B.

7. June 311.5,. v 1. December J3|Jy°b’\
8. July 35; A 2. January d’t‘ay'K v
9. August 9T \ 3. February LL: v
10. September J \ . 4. March Jm t
11. October J 31¢ J: u 5. April ng: o
12. November JL‘J_'J:: H 6. May 913‘ '\

The old Persian Year.

Since the reform of the old Persian Calendar in
1079 by Mali}: Shah Jaldlu’ddi'n, this year begins on
the day of the sun entering Aries, the Vernal Equi-
nox. The year consists of 12 months of 30 days each,
five being added to Isfandarmuz to bring the number
up to 365, and a leap year (sdl i Wseh) being reckoned
every fourth year with an additional day. This system
of reckoning is now little used, except that its New
Year’s Day (Naun‘w) is still the great day for go-
vernors entering on their office, and is a festival. The
names of the months are:

7. lilihr J” v 1. Farvardin ‘39”) \
8. Abfin A 2. Ardi Bihishtw‘53fi v
9. Agur (JST) 3.3T 0; 3. Khvurdad 31.3)); v
10. Day ‘53 \ . 4. Tir J; t
1]. Bahman 0.... u 5. Murdad 41.3,? o
12. Ispandarmuzylxrt \ Y 6. Shahrivar )3”; ‘\

The Tatar Cycle. (Sanavdt i Turkz‘.)

A Tatar Cycle of 12 years is sometimes used in
historical works, 6. g. in the Jahdn-gushd—yi Nadir-i. The
years are named after certain animals, the words
being still used in that sense in Central Asiatic Turk-
ish. The present year 1901 is the second of a new
Cycle, and is hence “the year of the Ox”. The names
with their translation are as follows:

Year of the Mouse Quay) alas; \
n n n 037 (-31") (5:31 Y

71 n n Leopard (out) c013"

Previous Index Next